WHAT KIND OF LOVE IS STRONGER THAN DEATH?

What are your most profound stories of life and death and love? Where is God in the middle of such heart-wrenching-we-can-barely-breathe pain and grief? Schema of a Soul is a layered love story in the midst of the relational aftermath of tragedy. Rather than minimizing pain in a dismissive effort to get over it and move on, could there be so much more meaning to be discovered regarding the relational reality of God if we were to delve deeper into the devastating places as He invites us? The beautiful truth is: there is a love stronger than death, boundless enough to break through our fearful, tightly held assumptions and illusions regarding pain and grief and relationships and life and death and God, and that changes everything.


WHERE TO BUY

ONLINE:

LOCAL:

  • Art and Soul, Lincoln, NE
  • Barnes & Noble, Southpointe, Lincoln, NE
  • Gloria Deo, Lincoln, NE
  • Larsen Service Drug, Watford City, ND

WHAT OTHERS ARE SAYING

Prepare your heart to sing and scream, to cry and hope. Then read Kim Berg’s Schema of a Soul. You’re invited to listen in to a journey that begins in untested love, is then hurled into agonizing chaos, continues through the good and bad of community, and emerges into the divine light that reveals the cost of loving like Jesus. Each chapter could rightfully hang in a gallery as an illuminating work of art.

—DR. LARRY CRABB, Founder of NewWay Ministries,
Author of 66 Love Letters and Fully Alive


Schema of a Soul is a poetic, literary masterpiece. Kim Berg’s command of the English language will navigate readers through a visual journey of love, profound loss, overwhelming pain, and eventual hope. The story comes alive in a kaleidoscope of color, bringing the reader along as a passenger on a sojourn through dark places of grief and light-filled places of hope and faith.

Schema of a Soul challenged many of my preconceived notions about how humans are supposed to navigate grief. Pastors, counselors, social workers, anyone who has experienced the grief that comes with the death of a child or loved one—this book is a must-read. Grief writes its own unique schematic on each one’s soul. Kim Berg’s powerful narrative will challenge and encourage readers from many walks of life regarding the importance of acknowledging and allowing that unique schematic to be written during overwhelming grief and loss.

—JON STANTON, Author and Speaker, hopefortheheavy.com


When the raging winds of pain blow, we yearn for a safe shelter for our souls. The beautiful tapestry of practical and spiritual connections woven in Schema of a Soul wrap securely around the reader, offering connection where there is isolation, vision where there is chaos, and faith where there is doubt. Whether you seek to understand and com- fort those who mourn or you are aware of your own pain, nestle in. And may sacrificial love demonstrate the truth of its strength in you.

—ANDREA WENBURG, M.A. Counseling Ministries


If there is any interest in sharing favor, approval or placing your hand in the small of someone’s back to be a support… now is the time to give this blessing to Kim Berg for authoring Schema of a Soul. The exposure of real-life grief and love is raw and tangible. You may need to be warned that God will take you to places you will never ask to go to on your own and cover you with layers of grace and mercy you may never feel again. Schema of a Soul will waken you to a description of grief that many moms, wives, and friends have had to fight for as they learn to breathe again on their own after the death of their own child. I thank God for this private and intimate insight to life.

—JACKIE J. BATES, Author of Conversations: Living Through the Process of Dying


READER REVIEWS

5-stars
ANGUISH IN HIGH DEFINITION

In the vein of C. S. Lewis’s A Grief Observed and Gerald Sittser’s A Grace Disguised, this book paints a vividly poignant picture of the sting of death–the death of a dearly loved family member. When Kimberlye Berg’s eighteen-year old son died in a car accident in 2002 she found herself in an extended season of excruciating anguish. Schema of a Soul is an honest portrayal of a soul in agony, but the book is also a testament to hope, faith, and love. The author reminds the reader of the power of Gospel to reorient ourselves toward others in the aftermath of tragedy.

The author wrote this labor of love for her husband Jim who is a professional architect in Lincoln, Nebraska. She masterfully employs architectural imagery throughout the book to bring home the point that God uses tragedy to effect the renovation of the human soul. One of the principal effects of spiritual renovation is the ability to love others well even when our own lives aren’t going well.

Combining sonnets, confessions, literary lament, informative historical flourishes, and engaging narrative, Schema of a Soul is a unique and provocative case study in grief. Much more than that, this book is must-reading for those who provide care for hurting souls. I shall very much look forward to more from this author’s gifted hand and tender heart.
-G. L. Nebeker


5-stars
I’M NOT EVEN SURE WHERE TO BEGIN…

If you’ve ever been touched by death, you need to read this book. I just finished it this afternoon and I’m not even sure what to do with myself. It is beauty and pain and hope and a million other things all rolled together. It has me asking myself “am I seeking God for Him or do I see Him as a means to something/someone else that I want?”. Just read it. Thank you to the author Kimberlye Berg for sharing such a personal and soul wrenching story.
-Julie Catron


5-stars
IF YOU HAVE EVER EXPERIENCED LOSS, OR HAVE A FRIEND WHO HAS, YOU NEED TO READ THIS BOOK.

This book was riveting, compelling, and challenging. I couldn’t stop reading, and I couldn’t keep reading. The raw pain expressed, and the inner conflict of moving ahead vs. traveliing through the pain…. I have three friends who have experienced the tragic death of a child, and as I read Kim’s book, I was challenged and inspired. I wish I had read it long ago (even though it was just published). I realize I have been the friend that was too quick to want life to return to normal, but only out of love and good intentions. This book will be an instrument for many who are on this journey, a guide for friends who want to understand. Schema of a Soul will be running in the background of my thoughts for many days and weeks.
-BBarber


5-stars
THIS IS AN HONEST LOOK AT LIFE AND DEATH, LOVE AND FAITH

If you are hurt, suffering and trying to make sense of God, reason, conflict, internal/spiritual pain this book may help guide you through the darkness. It will certainly let you know you are not alone. Kimberlye Berg took a unique path through heartbreak, there is great comfort in her honesty. I highly recommend the book.
-Donna Wagner


4-stars
BEAUTIFUL AND HAUNTING

An honest, heavy account of loss and grief. Be sure to keep Kleenex close! Very thought-provoking, and eloquently told and written.
-Stefanie Smith


5-stars
EVERY PARENT’S NIGHTMARE…

…the worst call ever–telling you your child has been in an accident. A deadly accident. In Schema of a Soul, Ms. Berg has turned her grief and loss into a touching love story–a love story for her husband, her children, her faith. It was not an easy task to bring it back together, to rebuild and reconstruct…The book is an invaluable resource for anyone who has faced the same kind of loss–so much so that I purchased three books (in addition to my own)–two for mothers who have lost a child and one for a therapist friend who works with “Mothers Without Daughters”…
-Mae J “Dakota Girl”


5-stars
AN AWFUL, BEAUTIFUL STORY THAT WILL LIKELY MAKE YOU A BETTER PERSON

There is no way that I could write a review that would do justice to the depth and beauty of this book. She takes you right through her pain, lets you know what it is like to be there, and then shows you how God rebuilds her and her husband in a process of learning about real love in the face of death.

I especially enjoyed the chapters on “Building” as she explored what architecture and space can provide as a form of art. I really, really appreciated the focus she put on the meaning of space, and how design makes such a difference.

I also appreciated the many meaningful quotes from authors like C.S. Lewis, G.K. Chesterton, Thomas Merton, and others. Such richness and beauty that she shares from her experiences of them.

This is an awful, beautiful book. I encourage you to pick it up and read.

Highly recommended for everyone wanting to live a fully alive, authentic life!
-An Amazon Customer


5-stars
SCHEMA: THE BOOK TO READ IN 2014

Schema surpasses your 5 star rating. It is a read that captures your heart, your emotions, and challenges your mind…requiring a 2nd read because of the intense beauty it presents. It must be pondered to be absorbed. My two books are now with friends and am ordering another for my anticipated 2nd read. Kim has proven to be a courageous woman, sensitive, and honest at amazingly deep levels.
-Lillian Jartdon

Leave a Reply